OpenDingux release 2019.05.17

Just a small update to tell you I made a small update to the OpenDingux firmware for the RetroMini.

Changelog

  • V3.0 boards should be supported now. Run flash_v30.bat on Windows or flash_v30.sh on Linux to flash the device.
  • It is now possible to change the brightness level from within the settings panel.
  • The DMA is used for SD card transfers now, so these should be a bit faster.
  • The battery level should be a bit more accurate now.

Download links

The update OPK can be downloaded here: OpenDingux update OPK

For those who did not flash already, an updated flasher can be downloaded here: Flasher tool download

Enjoy!

  1. #1Jutleys, 17 May 2019

    Works well good update guys.

    Reply

  2. #2ChampionLeake, 17 May 2019

    Sweet! Great to see the brightness ontrol is now implemented into gmenu2x. Thanks a lot guys. You rock!

    Reply

  3. #3Ninoh-FOX, 18 May 2019

    the new uzImage not work in my rs90 (v2.1) but with the previus uzImage work fine.

    Reply

  4. #4Ninoh-FOX, 18 May 2019

    Reply

  5. #5Jay, 18 May 2019

    I flashed the retro mini and connected the device with computer by USB cable.My Windows recognized a new device called “RNDIS/Ethernet” and could not find and install the driver.Could you please tell me what driver would be the right one for above network device ? Thanks !:)

    Reply

    1. #5.1pcercuei, 21 May 2019 (Reply to Jay)

      I don’t use Windows myself, sorry - maybe ask on the dingoonity forums.

      Reply

  6. #6Georgy, 18 May 2019

    Cool! My retromini which was seem to be bricked is now alive! Huge thanks! I haven’t checked if it’s actually V3 mb, but as the previous version failed for me I just picked V3 flasher and now everything works!

    Reply

  7. #7Ultra Boomer, 18 May 2019

    The brightness change is a welcome addition, although my battery readings work as crap. How can I identify which is my version? Mine says Samsung 122

    Reply

    1. #7.1pcercuei, 21 May 2019 (Reply to Ultra Boomer)

      Well, if you tried to flash with the v21 script and it didn’t work, then you have v3.0.

      Reply

  8. #8Brazilian boy!, 19 May 2019

    Thanks for the new firmware, you are my hero! By the way, there are fba.opk running in this system?

    Reply

  9. #9Grenouille, 20 May 2019

    Hi, I’ve had a problem updating opendingux on my RS90. Basically, it was flashed with the previous version of opendingux you’ve made weeks ago. Everything was fine. I wanted to update to this new version, so I plugged the device on my PC (in USB), turned it on while pressing A, and launched the v21 script (like I did the first time). Something must’ve gone wrong during the process because now, the screen won’t turn on (the green and charging LED are on though). Now, when I retry to flash, the flash script (v21 or v30) output those lines:

    Found Ingenic JZ4750 based device Uploaded 1496 bytes at address 0x80000000 Waiting for stage1 bootloader to complete operation… Uploaded 4327760 bytes at address 0x81000000 Uploaded 8627 bytes at address 0x81420950 Operation complete. Detecting OpenDingux… Found Ingenic JZ4750 based device Unable to send open: -7 Unable to send open: -7 Unable to send open: -7 Unable to send open: -7 Unable to send open: -7 Unable to close!

    I am not a genius, but I’m pretty sure that it doesn’t smell good. Any thing I can do to try to fix my device? I’m on Linux Ubuntu 18.04. Thanks for the amazing work anyway! :)

    Reply

    1. #9.1pcercuei, 21 May 2019 (Reply to Grenouille)

      Why didn’t you just run the update OPK? … You didn’t have to reflash just to install the latest update.

      When you try to flash it does the flasher appear on the screen? What you could do - just flash the old firmware and then run the update OPK.

      Reply

    2. #9.2Grenouille, 21 May 2019 (Reply to Grenouille)

      Hi, and thank you for your time. Nothing on the screen when I try to reflash, it stays black and does not light up. I also tried re-flashing the old firmware. I got the exact same output I posted from the terminal :/

      Reply

    3. #9.3pcercuei, 21 May 2019 (Reply to Grenouille)

      Looks like the flasher software is properly uploaded to the device but it does not start properly. At this point for me it’s hard to guess what’s going wrong.

      Reply

    4. #9.4Picea Pungens, 04 Jul 2019 (Reply to Grenouille)

      Hi Grenouille,

      In case you’re still around, or there are others who stumble upon this page, I had a similar-ish problem and was able to solve it. I had a failed upgrade from 2019.05.19 to 2019.06.01 that left me softbricked. You can see my thread with the back-and-forth under this site’s page for the 2019-06-01 release.

      **By holding R and Start on boot, the device will load the backup kernel and backup rootfs. **

      By holding R and Start, my device booted back into my previous, working versions of the kernel and rootfs from 2019.05.17 that were stored as KERNEL.bak and ROOTFS.bak or whatever. This got me back into gmenu and everything worked again, except I had to hold Start and R on every boot.

      From there, I was able to use the upgrade OPK from this page (rs90-update-2019-05-17.opk , CRC32 2afc82f6) to flash a working version of 2019.05.17 into the non-backup kernel and rootfs files so that I didn’t have to hold R and Start any more.

      Good as new!

      Reply

  10. #10Alexvaho, 25 May 2019

    When will a new version come out?

    Reply

    1. #10.1pcercuei, 29 May 2019 (Reply to Alexvaho)

      When there’s stuff worthwhile to be included in an update.

      Reply

  11. #11Peacy, 04 Jul 2019

    When i am putting the USB Cable to the PC and Switch the device on and hold down the A button, nothing happens! I started the flasher flash_v30.bat and it says that its unable to find Ingenic Device What should i do? Please Help!?!

    Reply

    1. #11.1pcercuei, 05 Jul 2019 (Reply to Peacy)

      You must press A while you power ON, not right after. If it’s still not detected after that, I guess you need to install the drivers. Check dingoonity forums for more information.

      Reply

  12. #12Flavio, 02 Aug 2019

    Hi, I have problem. I flash retro mini with release 2019.05.17 flasher. All perfect, opendingux start perfectly on console, when i connect with usb the pc find correctly the ethernet periferic and drivers work well. when i try with ALL FTP software to connect with Retromini to transfer opk file inside console, no 1 program can establish connection. I don’t know where i fail, but every time the message is timeout connection impossible to established or similar. I first switch on console, wait launch of OS. After i connect with usb console to computer, the device is recognized. open FTP software, put host protocol and log on type as indicated and…..nothing. At the moment i have not opk file in console so is impossible to me make something. I’m not expert, i need your help. Thanks in advance and thanks for wery good job made.

    Reply

  13. #13Flavio, 02 Aug 2019

    I try also to put opk file directli in sd in data/apps folder (the sd is reconised by system), but nothing compare on (In case can you indicate me correct folders tree to format the sd?) Thanks

    Reply

    1. #13.1pcercuei, 05 Aug 2019 (Reply to Flavio)

      Put the OPK files in the “apps” folder on the SD card, not “data/apps”.

      Reply

    2. #13.2Flavio, 06 Aug 2019 (Reply to Flavio)

      Hi, thanks for answer. First of all sorry for my english. I solve the problem. The problem is related to drivers linked in this site. In my case they work perfectly for the flashing phase but not for link of retro mini with computer for file trasfert with ftp softwares. I have Win 10 64 bit; after installation of driver in this site I tray to update them because was impossible for me access to internal nand. But i can’t update them because system (window) say me they are the best for device and stop installation of new one. I solved with “Acer Incorporated. - Other hardware - USB Ethernet/RNDIS Gadget” drivers available here: https://www.catalog.update.microsoft.com/Search.aspx?q=USB%20RNDIS%20Gadget. These driver are designed for Window Vista, but work with Win 10 and are the only one that make me possible to overwrite the old one and connect console to pc for file tranfert in Nand internal memory. I hope this will help other user in my same condition. I would like to congratulate with the creator of release. I can only imagine the complexity to do this, and the result is perfect. Emulation good and acceptable stability with release 05 (06 minor performance). Thanks

      Reply

  14. #14Rona Serena, 19 Dec 2019

    Attempted to install on RS-90, but after running all the processes I get a message that says something about failing to unmount, then a segmentation fault alert, then it says rebooting before going to black and remaining black.

    This is being done from Windows 10, using the flasher and the driver.

    Anyone have a solution? As of now the thing is a brick.

    Reply

    1. #14.1pcercuei, 23 Dec 2019 (Reply to Rona Serena)

      I don’t really know what to tell you, did you try it again?

      Reply